NIE task 13 – Task 13: Bringing together your framework and Activity Theory

In our last task we were advised to take a look at our initial framework developed for Task 5 and the interpretation of Activity Theory and compare them by looking for similarities and differences.

I’d say my approach of describing activities in task 5 was very different from the approach of activity theory. I wouldn’t say either of them is wrong in any way but the angles are very different. I was trying to generalize and bring out different types of activities and also predict a percentage of time consumption for all of those activities in daily life.

Acivity theory is more concentrated on the process of activity, its actors, tools, mediums and so on, which I didn’t consider in my framework. Activity theory also emphasizes the importance of technology, whereas in my framework I didn’t get there at all. That would have maybe been the next step or the next step from that, to dive into some of the activities and have a closer look of the purpose, happening and functioning of that activity.

So there are many different ways to approach the same few words and as I approached them so very differently in the beginning of the course then I might approach them now (or at least know how to), I can say it has been an enlightening course for meJ

One thought on “NIE task 13 – Task 13: Bringing together your framework and Activity Theory

  1. […] although some of you presented your initial frameworks from a process point of view Marta writes that “Activity theory is more concentrated on the process of activity, its actors, […]

Leave a Reply

